Tuesday, May 17Sports News Portal

Trending, Wrestling

Asian Wrestling Championships: Deepak Punia wins silver as India finish with 17 medals

Viky, with bronze in men’s 92kg, was India’s only other medallist on the final day of the continental meet. 

Tokyo Olympian Deepak Punia won the men’s freestyle 86kg silver while Viky bagged a bronze in the 92kg category at the  Asian Wrestling Championships 2022 in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia on Sunday.

With the two medals on the final day of the meet, India finished with a total tally of 17 medals, one gold, five silvers and 11 bronze, at Ulaanbaatar. Tokyo medallist Ravi Kumar Dahiya won the solitary gold in the men’s 57kg weight class.

Though the count surpassed last year’s haul of 14, India did win more gold medals, five, at the 2021 edition held at Almaty.

Deepak Punia, a former world championships silver medallist, began his campaign with a 6-0 win over Iranian grappler Mohsen Miryousef Mostafavi Alanjagh before ousting South Korean Olympian Kim Gwanuk, a bronze medallist at the Asian Games 2014, 5-0 in the semi-finals.

Up against Kazakhstan’s Azamat Dauletbekov in the gold medal match though, the Indian grappler came out on the wrong end of a 6-1 scoreline and had to settle for a silver medal at the Asian meet for the second consecutive year.

In the 92kg competition, India’s Viky edged Mirlan Chynybekov of Kyrgyzstan 4-3 in the quarter-finals but was defeated by Mongolia’s Orgilokh Dagvadorj by technical superiority in the semis.

A 5-3 win over Uzbek grappler Ajiniyaz Saparniyazov in the bronze medal match handed Viky a podium finish.

Mangal Kadyan also managed to make it to the bronze medal match of the 61kg event through repechage but was denied a spot on the podium by 2020 champion Ulukbek Zholdoshbekov of Kyrgyzstan, who won the medal bout 6-4.

The other two Indian wrestlers in action on Sunday, Yash (74kg) and Anirudh (125kg), were ousted after their first bouts.

Indian medallists at Asian Wrestling Championships 2022

Greco Roman

Sunil Kumar (87kg) – bronze

Arjun Halakurki (55kg) – bronze

Neeraj (63kg) – bronze

Harpreet Singh (82kg) – bronze

Sachin Sahrawat (67kg) – bronze

Women’s freestyle

Sarita Mor (59kg) – bronze

Sushma Shokeen (55kg) – bronze

Manisha (62kg) – bronze

Anshu Malik (57kg) – silver

Radhika (65kg) – silver

Men’s freestyle

Ravi Kumar Dahiya (57kg) – gold

Bajrang Punia (65kg) – silver

Gourav Baliyan (79kg) – silver

Naveen (70kg) – bronze

Satywart Kadian (97kg) – bronze

Deepak Punia (86kg) – silver

Viky (92kg) – bronze

Photo : olympics.com

Website : olympics.com