Thursday, May 19Sports News Portal

Cricket, IPL

IPL 2022: Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians – Preview

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians face-off in the 33rd match of IPL 2022 at DY Patil stadium in Mumbai on Thursday (April 21).

The last time these two teams faced off was in the IPL 2021, where the Men in Yellow came out on top after a spectacular innings from Ruturaj Gaikwad (88*) and a fiery spell from Dwayne Bravo (3-25) powered the Super Kings to a 20-run victory.

Post the last game against the Gujarat Titans, skipper Ravindra Jadeja had said: “We started brilliantly. First six overs were good as a bowling unit, but credit goes to Miller, who played some good cricket shots. When we were batting, the wicket was gripping and the ball was holding, so we thought 169 was a par score.”

After six games in the tournament, all-rounder Shivam Dube has scored the most runs for the Super Kings with 226 runs, including two half-centuries and a best score of 95* coming against RCB. Dwayne Bravo leads the bowling department with 10 scalps from six games.

Results at the DY Patil stadium so far in IPL 2022

The Super Kings have played twice so far at this stadium in IPL 2022, taking a win against Royal Challengers Bangalore and losing to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

It has pretty much been an even contest in terms of batting first and second at this venue as the team batting first has taken 5 wins and the team chasing has taken 6 wins from 11 outings so far at this stadium.

Average first innings score at this venue this year: 172

Chennai Super Kings squad: Ravindra Jadeja (captain), MS Dhoni (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Robin Uthappa (wk), Dwayne Bravo, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Devon Conway, Mitchell Santner, Dwaine Pretorious, Narayan Jagadeesan (wk), Tushar Deshpande, Deepak Chahar (injured), Adam Milne, Chris Jordan, Maheesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, KM Asif, Mukesh Choudhary, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Bhagath Varma, Hari Nishanth, Subhranshu Senapati.

Mumbai Indians squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Tim David, Jaydev Unadkat, Tymal Mills, Jofra Archer (unavailable & injured), Riley Meredith, Daniel Sams, Fabian Allen, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Basil Thampi, Anmolpreet Singh, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Aryan Juyal (wk), Arjun Tendulkar, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Sanjay Yadav, Arshad Khan.

Photo :

Website :